We’ll blame it on his teeth…

An era has ended.  You know… the time in your baby’s life when you don’t really have to discipline.  It’s wonderful and you only see the good side of him.  There comes a point in every baby’s growing-up when he has to be told “no” and he all of a sudden disagrees with you.  Parker has waited almost 17 months for this point to hit and what a nice 17 months it has been.

These past few weeks we’ve had to start teaching the bigs how to handle Parker’s newfound “independence” if you want to call it that.  Hayden’s basically a third parent and he has decided that when Parker has something he’s not supposed to have that, rather than take it from him, Hayden’s going to make Parker give it to him.  Fine by me.  I thought it was funny that Hayden even thought along those lines!

Just look that Cheeto-covered face... Surely he can't do anything wrong!

Some of Parker’s new tricks (that we are working to break) include:

  • slapping the ground when you tell him no
  • shaking his head “no” when you tell him no
  • screeching to get our attention instead of saying “mama” or “dada”
  • throwing an item as hard as he can once he realizes he’s been caught (He knows when he isn’t supposed to have something.  Today I got lucky when I saw him with my MagicMouse… SO glad he just handed it to me!)
  • throwing his milk when the stopper is messed up (Or worse, turing the cup upside down and pressing the stopper into the floor, creating a pool of milk which he then proceeds to wipe around as if it were finger paint.  Lovely.)
  • going completely limp when a brother tries to take him away from somewhere he wants to go or, God forbid, away from me*  (This one is actually quite funny and Matt and I can’t help but laugh at him.)

*Parker is going through a fairly intense “I want mama exclusively” phase.  I don’t know if this just an age-appropraite stage or if it stems from VBS week when he was in child care 4 days that week, for 5 hours a day.  I don’t know if it’s because he’s teething those 1st molars… three of them at a time.  No clue what his deal is, but it’s been less than pretty. I’ve had to pop his little hand (gasp) for a few serious offenses and today I actually put him in his bed for time out (I know… I’m scarring the kid for life).  I just don’t accept a little guy, of any age, acting inappropriately.  So, for now, I’m blaming it on his teeth.  But he’d better figure out pretty soon that, teething or not, certain things aren’t okay in our house or he’ll be pretty miserable. Regardless, he’s the cutest thing ever and I just love to kiss his little cheeks.    

(Oh, and I’m also blaming the past week’s crazy-gross diapers on teething, as well, regardless of whether or not doctors think teeth can cause upset tummies!)

 

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in parker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’ll blame it on his teeth…

  1. Jess says:

    um, why did I decided to have a third baby again??? 🙂

    • Jennifer says:

      Because you KNOW it’s worth it. Good days. Bad days. All absolutely worth it. And, by the way, your babies are growing up! They are so beautiful! Their EYES are gorgeous!

  2. Jess says:

    aw, thanks Jen!! And I promise I didn’t see this comment until after I posted the Green Lantern post!! That’s too funny!

Leave a Reply

