11 Mile Canyon or Bavaria

For those familiar with southern Germany, check this picture out.  Doesn’t it remind you of the river that runs through Garmisch and into Austria?

 

I took this on a camping trip to 11 Mile Canyon, Colorado, on July 23, 2007.

I remember thinking, ‘This place reminds me of the Sound of Music.’  Now I live in that part of the world!  There’s a road that leads through Austria to Garmisch (yes, my GPS takes me from Germany, through Austria, and back into Germany).  For about 20 miles you follow a river that looks a lot like this and I always intend to stop and take pictures. Something about having 4 kids in the car with me and knowing I have a 5 hour drive ahead of me has kept me from doing so each time.  Next time…

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in germany, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 11 Mile Canyon or Bavaria

  1. laurahartson says:

    this sounds like a fantastic drive! lucky you.
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

  2. it does look just like the sound of music!

    • Jennifer says:

      It’s beautiful! Fun camping, too. Until then I had never seen bear-proof trash cans. One night we were there a bear came and severely damaged one of the trash cans trying to get at left-over food inside. Anyway, we went camping there, thinking of how beautiful it was and how it reminded me of the Swiss Alps, and now I live close enough to visit the Alps often!

Leave a Reply

