Ice Cream Cake

I mentioned this cake before in this post for Hayden’s 10th birthday, but now I’m going to post the actual recipe for you.  If you want to avoid some mistakes I made on my 3rd attempt, read this.

Ingredients:

1 Betty Crocker Devil’s Food Cake mix, prepared in two 9-inch pans as instructed
1 tub Betty Crocker chocolate icing
1/2 bag toffee topping (optional but OH so delicious)
1 (1.5 qt) Homemade Vanilla Bryer’s Ice Cream (Don’t buy the kind with toffee in it. It will not set. See the “Birthday Cake Flop” post to see the results.)

Step 1:  Two days before you want to serve this cake, make the cakes as prepared.

Batter. I could eat this stuff as is.

After they’ve cooled for 10 minutes, remove them from the pans and place them on a cookie sheet to completely cool.

Let them cool and then, if you are more talented than I am, level the tops. I always ruin the cakes when I try to do that so I just leave them as they are.

Then freeze them.  You can freeze them on the cookie sheet or wrap each one in wax paper, stack them and place both in a Jumbo Ziplock bag and freeze them that way.  They need to freeze at least 12 hours before you attempt to put ice cream in between.  I promise.  I can tell that some of you don’t believe me.  Look at this picture for proof:

The two cakes were not frozen. The totally melted the ice cream. 😦

Step 2:  One day before you want to serve this cake, set the ice cream on the counter for 20 minutes or so.  Then empty the entire container of ice cream into a very large bowl.  Stir with a spatula until it’s softened.

So far this is the best ice cream I've used for this cake.

You can mix the heath topping into it at this point.  Be careful not to let it get too soft because it has to be hard enough to support the top cake.

I have to get my mom to ship this stuff to me. Love me some Heath Topping!

Step 3:  Quickly get both cakes out of the freezer and place on a platter that will be safe to freeze.  I use the Tupperware Round Cake Taker but don’t use the top.  It just won’t fit in my freezer.  Never fear, this cake gets eaten so quickly that it doesn’t have time to need covering!

Layers 1 & 2

Step 4:  Pour almost all of the ice cream on the bottom cake, place the 2nd cake on top and squish down until the ice cream is about to come out the sides.   Take the spatula and smooth the edges.  (You may need to put the assembled cake in the freezer for 30 minutes to harden before doing this next step.  If you do, be sure you also put the extra ice cream left in the bowl in the freezer as well.)

This is before I've used the left-over ice cream to "ice" the sides. It is also before I used a warm wet wash cloth to wipe away the spilled ice cream on the platter.

Use the left-over ice cream in the bowl to “ice” the sides.  Put the cake in the freezer until the ice cream is hardened.

Step 5:  After the ice cream is hardened, remove it from the freezer and ice the top with about 3/4 of the chocolate icing, just to the edges.  Pour some toffee on top.  Replace in the freezer and wait until it’s time to dig in!  🙂

Finished Product. Each time I make the cake it looks a little better.

SO GOOD!!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in food/recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

