before and after…

I organized all our school stuff (and all my stationary) in two days!  I had given myself the whole week, but I worked hard and got done early!  Now I’m really going to enjoy our trip to the lake tomorrow!! WHO-HOO!!

I was able to sort through what we have so that next week I can do research on some things I want to add for next year.  Just as I was finishing up, my friend Jessica stopped by with my favorite coffee!  Good day?  I do think so!

I keep this cart in the dining room.  In it are the books we use every day and my lesson plans.  The boys also keep their daily work folders in there.  I roll it up to the table so I can reach anything I need without having to search.  (Don’t laugh… the pile on top actually accumulated over the past month after school ended, as the boys have colored and I have really let it sit and grow.  Before then, I could find what I needed, usually.)

The cabinet below is where we keep all our texts.  It is the main location for our current school stuff.  (Completed workbooks and such are in a tote in the basement.)  The top shelf is my stationary (note cards, envelopes, etc), the second is curricula.  The third shelf has our paper, math manipulatives, and History folders.  The last shelf holds photographs and negatives.  Negatives… remember those?  Old-timey film that went into a camera and you had to send it off to be developed… Oh, my kids will never have to deal with that!Just one note… I didn’t just straighten these cabinets.  I actually hole-punched and put in the correct folders all the pieces of paper that had piled up.  I started a new tote for Parker… Kindergarten stuff!  AHH!!  (If/when we need it, I’ll be able to just grab that tote.)  This was a deep cleaning of sorts.  It feels good to have this particular job behind me.  I filled up a trash can of paper to take to the recycling bin.  On to the fun part! RESEARCH!!!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to before and after…

  1. Christine says:

    Thanks for posting this! We move into housing on Wednesday (we’re still in the hotel right now) and I’ve been wondering where I’m going to put our vast collection of school stuff ~ I think I’m going to steal your idea and get a cart like that for the dining room.

  2. Jennifer says:

    So glad you got a good idea from me! The rolling card is actually a microwave cart that people often use in small kitchens you find in small apartments. Hope you are able to find what you are looking for! Are you in Wiesbaden?

Leave a Reply

