Birthday Cake Flop

I’ve read that some people get annoyed when their friends only post the good things they do or only talk about the good days they have.  Well, let me assure you that I am more than willing to share a bad day or a complete failure every now and then.

Today wasn’t a bad day for me, but I did find out that today is my friend’s birthday.  She lives above me and I had no idea it was today!  Failure #1:  Not knowing it was her birthday.  While I was chatting with her, her daughter came in.  Christine (said daughter) watched my boys so I could run to the grocery store to get the 3 ingredients I lacked for making Evelyn a cake.  Failure #2:  Not having cake supplies on hand!

I returned in record time and got started baking.  The cakes came out of the oven in perfect form and I showed Matt how nice they looked!  (Jessica G. would be proud.)  They were uniform and came out of the round pans perfectly.  Failure #3:  Pride.  AKA: “The Big Head.”  I got them on the wire rack to cool and placed them in the freezer.  Failure #4: Cakes were not fully cooled before placing them in the freezer.  I let them cool for an hour in the freezer before pulling out the ice cream.  (I was making an ice cream cake.)  I let the ice cream thaw for a few minutes to soften.  Failure #5:  I let the ice cream thaw just a bit too much.  I then put my cake together.  Everything seemed to be going just fine.  The cakes seemed cool enough.  The ice cream seemed to be just the right texture.  I got the cake put together and told Matt how I was getting pretty good at this, after all, this was my third ice cream cake in a week’s time.  See Failure #3.

I put the assembled ice cream cake back in the freezer for a while to harden so I could later “ice” the sides with the rest of the ice cream.  When I went back a few minutes later, I iced it just as I did Hayden’s a few days ago.  As soon as I finished that task I put it back in the freezer, but something in my gut started to worry.  I checked on my cake 20 minutes later to discover that there was indeed a problem.  I had a small puddle of ice cream on the floor of the freezer and I knew that there was no salvaging the cake.  I carried it quickly to the bar and put it in a marinating Tupperware dish.  By this point the ice cream that had been between two 9-inch cakes was now floating in the Tupperware dish and the two cakes were sitting directly one on top of the other.  I scooped as much of the ice cream as I could on top of the cake and cleaned out the freezer before replacing the cake goo back in there.

Failure #6:  I had told Christine that I’d have the cake upstairs by 6:00 so the little brothers could have some before bedtime.  And, my Bible Study started at that time so I needed to be done with it by then anyway.  At 6:00 I had a gooey mess in the freezer and people showing up for study.  So the poor littles had to go to bed with no cake, and the birthday girl had no cake to enjoy on her special day.  So, after Bible Study I frantically made a batch of brownies and delivered them to Evelyn, along with a hug and a funny story.

In spite of the late hour, I believe she enjoyed the warm brownies and I do intend to make an ice cream cake for her in the very near future!  I owe her and her kids!

So, to make the birthday girl smile I took a picture of the end product so she would know that I had at least attempted the cake.

Birthday Cake Soup

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, EVELYN!

If you ever decide to make this ice cream cake, it’s actually quite easy, but you MUST let the cakes cool completely before placing them in the freezer and you MUST let them freeze completely before placing the ice cream between them.  Not an option.

Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 box devil’s food cake and ingredients on box
  • 1 rectangular tub of ice cream (I prefer vanilla with toffee mixed in, but in this recipe today I used Bryer’s Heath Bar ice cream and it was really yummy)
  • 1 tub chocolate icing
  • heath/toffee crumbles to add to ice cream and as a topping (optional)

Directions

  1. One hour before starting your cake, turn the freezer to its highest setting.
  2. Heat oven to 350º F. Grease and flour two 8-inch round cake pans.
  3. Make cakes as you normally would.  Allow the cakes to cool for at least 10 minutes before removing them from the pans. Let the layers cool completely before assembling the cake.  (I actually freeze them for a few hours before assembling the cake.)
  4. Place one of the layers on an 8-inch cardboard cake round or a freezer-proof cake plate. Using a rubber spatula, evenly spread 1 quart of the softened ice cream over the top of the plated layer. Place the remaining cake layer on top of the ice cream. Put the cake in the freezer to harden, about 1 hour.
  5. Transfer the remaining softened ice cream to a mixing bowl. Cream by hand with a rubber spatula until it reaches the consistency of frosting. Frost the top and the sides of the cake with the ice cream.  (Note:  I only frosted the sides of the cake with ice cream and I added 3/4 tub of chocolate icing on top, then sprinkled toffee bits on top.  This is totally up to what you prefer.  To see the correct version of this cake, click here to see Hayden’s birthday cake.  This link will have two editions of the cake.  The first one was the practice cake and I didn’t do a good job of icing the sides.  The second cake was a little better, but both are VERY amateur.  They tasted good, though!)

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday Cake Flop

  1. on my!
    its really the thought that counts and the effort put forth

  2. Evelyn says:

    LOL…still laughing at the story…the story made my day actually…best present ever!!!

    AND it’s sooooo true…it’s the thought that counts, will probably make the cake this weekend for the boys AND I will follow your directions to the T!!!

  3. Pingback: Ice Cream Cake | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

