Double Digits

10 years ago right now (5:30 pm Eastern Time at the time I wrote this, not necessarily when I posted it) I was on my way home from a less-than-great visit with my midwife, Sage.  Earlier that day I had completed the week of Standardized Testing for my 4th graders and had been given the go-ahead by my principal to have my baby.  (She really needed me to facilitate the testing because every available certified teacher was already administering!)  I remember lightly jumping in the teacher’s lounge in response, saying “Come on, baby!”  During the pregnancy we weren’t able to find out the gender, but our whole family was guessing “it” was a “she.”  After all, my best friend had had a daughter 11 months prior, so of course, I would follow suit and have a girl.  We would dress them alike and paint their toe nails and give them adorable piggy-tail hair dos.  But I digress…

The reason the visit to Sage wasn’t so great was because my blood pressure was beginning to elevate and she had put me on bedrest.  I didn’t do that very well, and stopped by the school to write a note to my students on the white board.  When I finally made it home, I planted a few plants in a small garden area before showering and getting on the couch.  I can remember sitting on the couch that night thinking that I had it made. I was able to take the next week off of work and just relax before becoming a mommy.  Um, not so much.

In the middle of the night my water broke and it was time.  I showered and then Matt drove me to Gaston Memorial Hospital.  When my sweet child made his entrance and they announced that “it” was a boy, I was surprised!  My first words were, “It is?!?!”  And from that second beyond I have been SO glad he was a boy.

My amazing son, as he looks today.

Hayden's first day home. May 6, 2001

It was great to have Grandma and Grandpa Caldwell (Matt's grandparents) come to meet our new addition.

I just had to add this picture. Matt looks 16! And Hayden was giving his gangsta' face.

Matt and David with Hayden and Maria

That's a Parker face if ever I saw one!

Mommy and Hayden on the NYC Subway

I believe I will forever regret that I didn’t have a nicer camera or the skills to use one from the first day we found out Hayden was coming.  I took hundreds of really bad pictures, which I’m thankful for, but still…  If only…

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Double Digits

  1. SANDY HARLOW says:

    HELLO, JENNIFER….

    THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL STORY, JENNIFER…I LOVE IT. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS WITH OUR FAMILY…
    HAYDEN IS JUST BEAUTIFUL…GOSH, I DID NOT REALIZE IT, BUT, HE LOOKS JUST LIKE MATT!! COME TO THINK OF IT, SO DO THE OTHER BOYS!! LOL!

    HAVE A WONDERFUL MOTHER’S DAY WITH THOSE PRECIOUS BOYS OF YOURS…AND MAY YOUR FAMILY HAVE A GREAT BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION FOR HAYDEN, TOO…

    LOVE TO ALL …
    SANDY HARLOW
    (JODY’S MOM)

    • Jennifer says:

      Thank you for your kind words! Yes, all my boys look like their daddy… what can I say. 🙂 I certainly intend to have a great Mother’s Day and I do wish you the same!

  2. mehancock says:

    TEN YEARS!?!? Its still unbelievable to me. What a handsome guy he has turned into!!

Leave a Reply

