I’m feeling hopeful…

So, the van has been sitting mostly alone for the past 28 days (but who’s counting).  (If you missed that story, you can read it here.)  Matt has driven it a few times  a week to keep it operable and because there were days when we really needed two cars.  We’ve been saving up for the parts and service work, which will total about $1800 when all is said and done.

I spoke with  my mom today and she said that I should call around and get an American mechanic’s expert opinion about what to do.  Thankfully, my Uncle Steve knows of one in NC, and he gave me the number.  I found the diagnostic codes and spoke with someone at a reputable transmission repair shop and was given the go-ahead to drive the car!!  He said that based on the codes the van was showing there was no danger in driving, but that if the lights come back on, it’d be good to get a 2nd opinion.  (Could be interesting here, but maybe we could go down to Kaiserslautern’s Chrysler dealership or something.)  He said they should be able to tell me if the part needed is the $300 cylinoid thingy or the more expensive parts.

So, as of tomorrow I have my car back!  We are really praying we are able to get 2 more years out of it without major expense.  But more than that, we’re praying for safety.  It’s not about money, because we’re happy to pay for the repairs if the van needs it.  But if it just needs a little work, I’d hate to get a rebuilt transmission for nothing.  Praying for wisdom regarding it.  But for now, we feel good about driving it, especially since it hasn’t acted funny at all.  Just a little yellow light that came on, which has since been reset.

So, today I’m feeling hopeful.

My favorite flower. (I know it has nothing to do with the post, other than daffodils evoke a feeling of hope in me.)

Playing with backlighting.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

