Fun Run

The boys first FUN RUN!

3 years ago I was convinced I could never be a runner.  I was adamant that there was no way I could run farther than was necessary to outrun a rabid dog.  Then I heard an illustration during a service at New Life and the take-home for me was that I was supposed to start running.

I have heard it said that someone at my level of running is “a person who runs,” but not “a runner.”  I want to give myself more credit than that.  I’ve worked hard to get to where I am, which may not seem far considering where I might have been after 3 years of running. But my goals are less about becoming a stellar runner and more about creating a habit of exercise.  Today, one of my secret goals was met.  Our family of 6 ran a race together.  It was a short, 3K Fun Run but we did it together!  I was so proud of my guys because they haven’t been training and yet they ran almost non-stop!  I plan to keep a little journal of their races.   (I couldn’t tell you how many of the girls from the track team we passed!!)

With the van down, the boys and I took the Army bus to the race.

Before the race. All 4 look thrilled to be there...

Every racer should have a sword.

As a surprise, Daddy showed up to run the race with us! In boots and uniform!

Mr. Witmer took this picture of all of us running... well, Bailey & Hayden are mostly hidden, but they're there.

My oldest son after the race.

It's hard to get a family-of-six shot!

Mom and her boys (Sorry about the tight crop... long story.) Anyway, they look miserable but they were quite pleased with themselves and had a good time.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun Run

  1. Judy "Ommie" Gloy says:

    Sooo sweet! Love you all. Tell the boys that Ommie and PaPa are SO proud of them! B less their hearts! That REALLY had to “take a lot out of them”! Good job – as always.

    Love from Kentucky,

    Om and Pop

  2. Candace says:

    Oh that is so awesome. I definitely want to do that one day with my kids. So proud of you Jen…you are an inspiration.

    Love to all!

Leave a Reply

