Creativity

I’m sure I haven’t said this before, but I’m LOVING my online photography class! (Thanks Elizabeth E. for the recommendation!)  This week we are learning about focus.  I use “focus recompose” 99% of the time, and you know what they say about statistics… 88% of all statistics are made up on the spot.  Anyway, “focus recompose” is a simple way of saying that I use the center of my camera to focus, then slightly move my camera to put the object I focused on in the place within the viewfinder I want it.  This week they are stretching us a bit and teaching us to use the many options our cameras have for “selective focus.”  I decided I’d give it a try to see if it was worth the effort, and it was.  It came in handy in the picture I’m including in this post.

That’s technical stuff but the title of this post is “Creativity,” so let’s get to that point.  The “Creative Assignment” is not a requirement, but I always participate because I want to learn as much as possible.  The task this week was to not only practice with our camera’s focus, but to take a picture of my life’s focus.  Immediately, my mind went to a picture of my kids, which IS my life’s main focus right now.  But that didn’t seem too creative, so I sat that one on the “in case nothing else strikes my fancy” burner.  Then while I was cooking lunch yesterday I had an idea!  I always listen to Dave Ramsey while making meals and I decided I could take a picture of my iPod playing his podcast.  We have spent 4 years focused on our finances trying to get out of debt, and here I am, still focused on our finances, keeping us on track.  PERFECT!  So, I grabbed my new camera with an even newer 50mm fixed focal 1.4 lens and snapped away, getting some neat pictures.

Then after the boys were fed and in their rooms for rest/reading time, it was time for me to sit down and rest a bit as the sick baby was sleeping.  I set my iPod down on a stack of items on the table beside my recliner.  What I saw then was a visual of my life’s current focus.  No joke, it had so many aspects of my life represented I couldn’t resist!  Here’s the photo and below I’ve listed what each item represents, as if they are not obvious enough.

  1. The iPod playing Dave Ramsey.
  2. The photography book representing my current focus on this class and my favorite past-time.
  3. The homeschooling magazine representing my oldest three sons and our commitment to their education.
  4. The paci, representing Parker, but that was too obvious.
  5. The mug, representing my love of coffee.
  6. The word, “Wiesbaden,” which represents the fact that my husband is serving our country and because of that, we are stationed in Germany.

The exciting thing about this picture is that I was able to think through most of my settings before I even took a picture.  Instead of taking 50 shots to get a good one, I took about 8!  Got to say, that was as pleasing as anything else.  And to top if off, this picture has gotten a lot of good feedback from my fellow classmates as well as the TA!

WHO-HOO!  I feel like I got it right!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creativity

  1. Jess says:

    You did a great job with setting up this shot and with the composition! YAY Jennifer!

  2. Judy "Ommie" Gloy says:

    Oh Jenn! That was a beautiful picture that made tears come to my eyes! It just shows your loving heart, sweetness, honesty and what a beautiful mother you are! The picture is beautiful – wish I was there sharing the coffee with you.

    Love you,

    Ommie

  3. Jenn Cook says:

    Loved it! Great job and great camera! I’d have a Canon 7D magazine! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  4. Holly says:

    Love it!!!! I love that it only took you 8 pictures to get it right!! Proud of you girl!!

Leave a Reply

